Day Sixty three

Today was the first day of the rest of my derby life, least that’s how I approached it. My stomach was filled to the brim with butterflies and nerves about returning to the derby world. On Saturday at yoga, the yogi talked about prayer, prep and proceed. Taking the time to think positive (pray), prepare yourself for what you need to tackle and proceed when ready.

I applied as much of that as I could for today. Thinking positive by thinking ahead, saying this is temporary and I’ll come back better than ever. Preparing by stretching and having my chiropractor check out my knee on Sunday, talking to my physical therapist about where I should be at and looking into the option of knee braces. I even prepared before practice started by doing my 20 burpees, active stretching, warmup and more stretching. Proceeding is a tricky thing I feel, I can say that taking the first step on the track is proceeding. But I have a hard time trying to figure out when the right time is to proceed to falling, to proceed into drills, contact, hitting, etc. I know everybody is different and I’m trying to take the time I need to figure out what is best for me.

I made it through the entire practice, though a little sad I could not participate in drills, I skated on the outside, watching, then helped ref when they scrimmaged, which felt good as well. I wanted to continue but told myself to recover for next time.

Though I have one thing I need to focus on. Getting my flex all the way back. Both my chiro and physical therapist weren’t happy to see/hear that I still can’t touch my butt with my heel. It doesn’t hurt, it’s just tight. But they both suggested that I should start being a little more aggressive in my stretching. If I plateau, then that’s an issue. I don’t feel like it’s getting worse and that it’s only getting better. But that’s so hard to gauge. At this point I will talk to Vidal on Saturday and hope for the best, pray for good health and prepare for the idea that I may not be cleared for contact, or prepare for the idea I will have to face my fear of falling. Either way, I’ve gotta keep my mind set in check and hope for the best.

Food:

  • Oatmeal with protein powder and PB
  • Trail mix
  • Milk
  • Garbanzo’s chicken plate with whole wheat pita
  • Post workout drink
  • Milk with protein powder
  • Curry tofu with bok choy
Workout:
  • 20 burpees
  • 2 hour derby practice
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day Sixty three

  1. If you just started skating today, take some time to be off-contact. You need to relearn how to skate again, beyond having people slamming into you! Even with only having a month off, I still took a full week of no-contact (and the doc wanted me to take 2). Don’t rush it! And then, slowly practice your falls on your own time just like when you were starting off.

    You may want to hit up your derby daze sessions, just to be in a less scary environment?

    • frakkinfit says:

      Oh no, I’ve been on skates since March just about every Sunday with the punks. Doing laps, sprints and demos with them as much as possible. That was a little weird, getting use to skating again. I have my skating legs back but no contact for another week at least. I’ve been practicing falls here and there with no problems. Double knee is the toughest, but single knee is no sweat. Fell unintentionally due to slick floor and had no twinging, which I felt was a small victory.

      I probably will be hitting up derby days for a little bit when I have the chance, punks have been helpful as well. Thanks for the advice, I like to hear how people got back into derby after an injury, it’s a huge help.

Leave a Reply

