More preparation

 

Well, it’s time. I have all the food I need for awhile, MUCH thanks to Queen for the grocery list, it gave me a lot for very little, which makes me happy over all.

She also passed on an amazing soup recipe that I tried out tonight and LOVE. I also love the fact that the leftovers took four things of tuperware. SCORE. Also, homemade tortilla chips? Absolutely amazing. I was also discussing some other recipes and figured I would throw up one of my fav recipes to date. My awesome veggie friend Brian passed this onto me and I fell in love. THEN, when I was trying to find an online version, I came across another one that integrates tofu and I am dying to try it, so here you go!

Spinach Chickpea Curry

Ingredients:

  • 2 bags spinach, wilted, squeeze of moisture, then chopped (one large box of spinach seems to work well)
  • 1 medium sweet onion, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger, chopped fine
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped fine
  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and washed
  • 1 tbsp olive oil, for sauting
  • 1 tbsp olivce oil, for curry paste (see spices below)
  • 1 ramien mixed spices, red curry, tumeric, cardomon, coriander, mustard seed, cumin and kosher salt (I just use a japanese curry mixture, it has nutmeg and cinnamon in it for a bit of sweetness)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth

Directions:

1. Wilt spinach in pan on medium heat with just a touch of water. Remove from heat and allow to cool, once cool, squeeze remaining moisture from them.

2. In a ramiken (or small bowl), combine spices to desired quantities, being heavier with the curry and cumin than anything else. Add the 1 tbsp. olive oil to this mixture and stir until it is a paste. Set aside.

3. In a medium pot, add the 3 tbsp of olive oil and bring to medium heat. Add chopped onion and cook for 2-4 minutes, then add ginger, garlic and curry paste. Cook until oil starts to separate from paste, then add spinach, vegetable broth and chickpeas. Cook 5-10 minutes on medium to medium-low heat.

That’s it! It’s reaallly tasty with feta thrown in with a dollup of greek yogurt or hummus. Course you could mix this up like crazy with tomatoes, olives, different spices, etc. It’s yummy and makes a TON!

Here is the tofu (VEGAN) variation I found as well. I loove curry!

http://www.thesnarkychickpea.com/2010/11/chickpea-spinach-curry-wtofu-vegan-mofo.html

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

